Register now to get rid of these ads!

Fuel filter wiring

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by grf-x, Apr 10, 2012.

1. grf-x

grf-x

I could really use some help here. I know I am a Grenade Inspector. But I am really quite the FNG when it comes to a certain things. I did do a search. Just wanted you to know before you threw me on the grenade.

Need advice on running wire along the frame to the engine bay, Or some other way, that is clean and safe. This is for an electric fuel pump that I am going to run in line with the mechanical one.

Chris from Shoeboxford gave me advice on how to connect the wires and suggested I mount the electric fuel pump near the tank on the frame (in front of the leaf spring mount closest to the middle of the car). But I want the wire running to the engine bay to be a clean install and the wire to be safe. Pictures of a clean install would be nice ( I am a visual learner LOL). But any advice how how to mount and rung the wire, be it inside the car or along the rail would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
    Mateo Rhymer

2. jack orchard

jack orchard

wire would be best protected by running inside the car (under the carpet) as far as possible. protect as necessary. then drill a hole for a grommet to protect the wire as it passes thru the floor. protect the wire w/plastic protective covering the rest of the way to the pump. clamp as necessary. solder and shrinktube all connections. don't forget to use the correct fuse to protect the wire and the pump...jack

3. grf-x

grf-x

Jack,

Fuse? Crap. Any suggestion on what kinda fuse and where I should install it? Like i said, still learning. :). For for the info.