Register now to get rid of these ads!

Switching careers on a bad note....

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ParkinsonSpeed, Apr 13, 2012.

1. ParkinsonSpeed

ParkinsonSpeed

I recently had a life changing event happen and made me think about a few things... Im currently a welder/fabricator by trade and have been for years but recently that has kicked me in the ass. Even with masks and breathing equipment welding has killed my breathing and throat tissue because of the 12 hour days, six days a week plus the hours of welding at my own shop when i get the chance. And with heavy production Mig welding it creates alot of smoke. I found out i currently cant continue abusing my breathing system like this, i have sensitive tissue in my throat and so on. Anyways.... Im stumped on what i should seek now to learn from scratch and become good at. I need help and ideas with any careers you or someone you know are in. Bodyshop is out of the question, But machining and CNC catches my eye and i know the pay and work is there but with a huge hospital bill and not enough funds to go to school im not sure how hard it would be to jump into that trade. I would love to keep it in the trade work i love but i new ideas are key to looking at a new future. So any ideas are helpful and im always listening.

2. ...can't really help ya, but I'd like to see more of that avatar car...

3. Shop foreman, inspector, Get out of the hood but stay in the same field.

I worked as a fitter, 30 mins a day hood time.

4. ParkinsonSpeed

ParkinsonSpeed

Sitting waiting for a floor... Im going to continue welding at my shop and fabricating, Just not beating myself to death over it.

Attached Files:

5. BrandonB

BrandonB
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from nor cal

How about a CWI??

6. Well if you know the work how about estimating?