Register now to get rid of these ads!

Close Call in my Shop today!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by TinShed, Apr 13, 2012.

1. TinShed

TinShed

I work alone in a small auto repair shop I own. Today, while lifting a car on a Rotary brand car hoist one of the hydraulic lines burst. I will say thank God for the safety stops built into the hoist, they saved the car and possibly me. The moral of the story...check the safety stops on your lifts. I cannot count how many times over the years that I have seen the safetys bypassed or broken in shops or garages. I have never had 1 close call till today! :(

2. Soviet

Soviet

Thank the engineer that designed the safety stop system instead.

3. Amen brother, glad your safe.... Can't be to careful!

4. ParkinsonSpeed

ParkinsonSpeed

I worked in a shop building dynos and they had their lift sink with the safety stops non functioning, the owner of the 2012 ZR1 was not happy.... When the lift sank it tried pulling the car in half (the rear still on the dyno that is about 30 inches high) and the front ties were connected to the lift and to the front wheels through the rim which both failed. Lots of money replacing alot of parts, in the end it took about 15 minutes to adjust the rods after it was all said and done. Totally worth the time to check everything and always over looked but have a good fire extinguisher because with fuels and light materials a small fire can spread quick while your searching for something to put it out.

5. Don's Hot Rods

Don's Hot Rods
    from florida

We keep talking about how nice it would be to have a lift in our shop and then I read threads like this and rethink the whole thing. I have just never felt comfortable with a ton or two perched over my head. :eek:

Don

6. twisted-metal

twisted-metal
    from san jose

I am going to set up my used "Rotary" lift tomorrow. Makes me think I should replace the hydraulic lines before I set it up.

7. Big_John

Big_John