Register now to get rid of these ads!

SBC vs Flathead

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Strong-arm, Jul 30, 2011.

1. Mopar Mama

Mopar Mama
    from Boise, ID

IMHO, this is the best advice. I have had my Desoto for 5 years, un-running, because I am to damn stubborn to give up the old flathead in it. I have the Plymouth too, which I am working on now because it's closer to driving. But the point is, I could have been driving my Desoto LONG ago if I had just put my Chevy 250 (inlines are my favorite) in it and been done with it. In hindsight, I wish I had just thrown that engine in and built the original while driving the thing.
    I have NO fabricating experience, but would it be too hard too switch back to the flattie later if they are both V8's?

2. FLATHEAD. if you are trying to convince yourself otherwise, you are fooling yourself. a flathead is a fu**ing flathead, end of story.
    anyone can have a sbc. but hey, go ahead, be everybody else.

3. Von Rigg Fink

Von Rigg Fink
    from Garage

I got to page 3 and stopped reading

put what ever you want or can afford and close the hood..

than get out there and show it off driving it.

4. ironfly28

ironfly28
    from Orange, CA

No, it's not that easy, it involves transmissions and radiators and fabricated motor mounts not to mention electrical.........same with your boat anchor 250 It doesn't just bolt right in because it has the same number of cylinders.........
    To the OP.........do what ever you want, just do it! get that car on the road!

5. johnybsic

johnybsic
    from las vegas

Quote- "Almost Every small block built for 10 years straight wore the cam lobes off within 25,00 to 60,000 miles."

"GM engines are poorly designed with the distributor sitting directly behind the carburetor. At the slightest hint of a gas leak the distributor handily lights the engine compartment on fire and the result is that GM gets to sell you a new truck/car "