Register now to get rid of these ads!

Building a '26 Help on Frame/Suspension Ideas

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by splitnrag, Feb 29, 2012.

1. I'm new to the rods and this level of build so I'm going to ask a couple of questions and hopefully someone can give me a decent direction. I bought a '26 Tudor I have the opportunity to buy a complete full model A frame, with the running gear (4banger), the gauges, the wiring everything has less than 300 miles on it and he has the boxing plates as well. He tore the car down to parts because someone wanted him to ship it but everything other than a body is there and just needs to be put back together.

1. Is buying this a good route (approx 3k) as I learn and just put the '26 body on this after I put the boxing plates on it and powder coat it. I would then upgrade the suspension and motor later but would get me driving sooner.
    2. Building a frame from scratch and if I do this is there a set of plans out there or good measurements? I can weld, cut and most importantly I can grind :)
    3. Is there a complete kit on the market that isn't welded up but I can put together and weld.
    4. A good source for frames?
    5. What suspension components make sense? I know this is a big open ended question but want input from those that have been there and done that.
    I have built a few cars but not from total scratch so this is stepping beyond my knowledge and the best way to gain it is trying it however I want to do what makes sense both in money and in time. My ultimate goal would be to run a Flathead V8 and a decent suspension and brakes. I don't need a fast car but safe and enjoyable driver.

Thanks for the read and look forward to some insight.

2. need louvers ?

need louvers ?