Register now to get rid of these ads!

Why can't I find a 1950's childs car seat ?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Wayne mcMichael, Feb 18, 2012.

1. I have been advertiseing for 2 years to find an antique or vintage car seat for a toddler. No responses ? Were they all recalled, thrown out or wore out. You would think somebody has one in a garage or a barn. I want it as a photo prop for my grandson only. Please help if you can !!
    wayne at [email protected]

2. Here's the thing, Wayne: there never were any. Child safety seats were a product of the 70's, and were very rare even then.

Cosmo

3. storm king

storm king

What Cosmo said. People weren't afraid of their own shadow, or have a gov't mandated nanny state telling them what they had to do. Seat belts weren't even standard equipment...

4. GTS225

GTS225

and even then, they weren't mandatory. If I'm not mistaken, most states never made a law about them until the 90's.

Roger

5. Rowdy_one

Rowdy_one
    from Oh

Didnt have safety seats like they do now. Saw one at an antique mall near cincy a while back, hung over the back of the seat, had a steering wheel for the kid to play with. not tied down an anyway, just kinda raised them up so kid had a straighter shot at the windshield

6. JD Miller

JD Miller

Now thats funny !

As a kid we had no seat belts either. Road a bike with no helmet(offroad too), even road skate boards with no pads.

You could even get swats with a heavy paddle in grade school, not to mention teachers that swated you with a thick yard stick

My goodness,,, How did I survive without the Guberment Nanny B.S. ?

7. The one you describe is exactly the one I am looking for.
    Thanks to you all, Wayne

8. Rowdy_one

Rowdy_one
    from Oh

better expaination, wasnt safety in anyway, just a place to put your kid

9. Car seat? hell.... we rode on the dog tray!!!