Register now to get rid of these ads!

Single weber downdraft on a GM 292

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bodi, Feb 15, 2012.

1. I have no experience with the Weber downdrafts, but, am interested in possibly running a single 2bbl downdraft instead of the monojet.

Im interested in something like the 44 IDF, or 48 IDF. I will obviously need to research the CFM to match, but, that is the style I am interested in. Can anyone fill me in on the potential problems I may encounter when running one of the downdrafts on a Chevrolet 292 in a street driven (daily driver) 1964 4 speed 1/2 ton pickup. I'm mostly interested in trying this on this pickup in research for future powered earlier roadsters/coupes, but, want to run one on this pickup for now.

Help me out if you can!

Thanks

2. mike c

mike c

Check with redline in Gilroy,ca. They may have a kit to fit a IDF to a inline intake. Also check some of the inline forums for additional info. I may have the adapter that fits the GM intake. Let me look for it. Thanks. Mike cain. 607 426 5598

3. mustangsix

mustangsix

IIRC a 44IDF should flow enough to be more than adequate as a replacement for the monojet on a 292.

The CFM is hard to pin down because the venturis are swapable and the airflow can be adjusted for your application. You can tune these things to run on anything from a VW bug to a BBC.

4. If you are going to make a manifold,,,why not use a sidedraft carb ? One less turn and a lower hoodline for the future use.

5. I have a question that is off topic for this thread but maybe someone could answer it for me. What does IIRC mean?

Now onto the question. I am a big fan of the webers in a racing application but I do not care for them on a street driven vehicle. I would lean toward a del ortho or a solex copy of wither if it were me.