Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects '62 Mercury Monterey Mild Build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by pacificustoms, Feb 7, 2012.

1. pacificustoms

pacificustoms
    from Napa, CA

Here's a project that I've been tinkering on for a couple of years now. After having large projects that seem to progress slowly (because building cars for others is my full time job) I wanted a car that ran and drove to build up and drive while doing so. My brother had bought this Mercury long ago at an auction and it literally sat out in a field until someday someone might do something with it.

My painter friend and I were painting wheels for my Roadster one day and had some time to spare between coats. He asked about the Merc out in the field so I told him it was basically a "one day" project. He asked if I wanted to paint it? I said sure, so there we went. I pulled it out of the field. We prepped it with what little tools we had there on location and sprayed it that afternoon with a quick temporary paint job.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. pacificustoms

pacificustoms
    from Napa, CA

My painter (Kyle Martin) came back the following weekend and did a quick and simple flake and lace paint job on the roof.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Pulled off and painted some of the pieces under the hood.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. SLCK64

SLCK64

Fookin A!!!!!

Nice ride man!!!

4. Squablow

Squablow

Looks great, you knocked that out in one day? How many hours would you say you had in it? Can I assume there was no rust and minimal bodywork to be done? Very impressive.

5. Hdonlybob

Hdonlybob

Now that is what I call a great day's work!!
    I like it a lot.
    Good for you.
    Cheers...

6. Hoptup Jalop

Hoptup Jalop

Lookin sweet!! Wish I still had my 4 door!

Sent from my iPhone using TJJ app

7. Shopking

Shopking
    from central Pa

Quicker than Macco!

8. Gator

Gator

Nice fade job!

9. shocker998md

shocker998md