Register now to get rid of these ads!

Straight axle front end HELP????

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 64 Thunderbolt, Jan 24, 2012.

1. 64 Thunderbolt

64 Thunderbolt

I'm starting to try to research what straight axle front suspension to put under my Henry J.
    I would like to go with Scrap Yard parts if at all possible to keep cost down so that I can get the build done faster. Around here I have a couple old school yards I can search through.
    My question are this.
    What front axle should I look for to fit under my Henry J?
    What gear box & steering?
    What front springs?

I'm building an Old School Gasser that will be a street car if this helps.
    I've never built a straight axle car before so I need all the help I can get.
    I thought about building my own straight axle.
    What all would it take to build one of my own?

I want to try & stay away from buying all new stuff if I can.

2. Harry o

Harry o
    from Georgia

Find some one on here with a henry j and ask them what their running ... Speedway may have one ...

3. Use some lite springs say from a snowmobile trailer. Axel should be a straight Axel with spindles to match front hub's and wheels.Steering would be a co well type do a search search in the Tech archives. Become an alliance member and get discounts from some suppliers. Good luck on your build be sure to post your progress.

4. Clik

Clik

I went with a speedway on my Henry J. As I remember it there were two different lengths offered and I went with the wide one because I like the stance better.

Do a search on here for Von hartman's Abomination Henry J. I think he used a Willys axle.

Look for old Ford trucks and measure them up.

5. 64 Thunderbolt

64 Thunderbolt

Clik, what the width from side to side on your car?
    I still haven't got mine home to measure it yet is why I'm asking.

6. Ford Freak

Ford Freak

Look for an axle that is around 48" center of king pin to center of king pin.

7. Buckster