Register now to get rid of these ads!

Building a rollcage and seeking advice...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by batt69nova, Jan 27, 2012.

1. batt69nova

batt69nova
    from OR

Title says it all...

In the midst of replacing the floor, rockers...well, lets just say replacing everything along the bottom of the car, on my '54 olds Holiday.

Decided to put in a cage. Figured that with the car braced up, the interior gutted, and the doors off for all the other metalwork that this is the best time to do it.

I've never built a cage before. I searched on here and found a little info, but was wondering if anyone has built a cage in a tri five chevy or '54-'57 olds and has any pointers specific to my chassis. I realize the tri five chevs are somewhat different, but close enough for me to apply to the Olds.

I'm looking on guidance for hoop placement (was planning on right where the b pillar would be if the car had them)-if there's a "sweet spot" for the main hoop? Also, good technique for anchoring the hoop/down tubes. I am currently planning on attaching downtubes to plates where the body mounts to the frame (beef up the body mount area). Should I go direct to the frame? If going to the frame, how does one isolate vibration or do you just not worry about it?

Of course, all info will be appreciated!

2. oj

oj