Register now to get rid of these ads!

MIG welding sheetmetal that's been brazed

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by b-body-bob, Jan 8, 2012.

1. b-body-bob

b-body-bob

I've got a situation where the door striker on my OT car cracked behind the door striker and at some point it was fixed it by brazing it up. Now it's cracked again, and it's got brass gobbed everywhere. I was wondering if I have to get all that brass off before using my MiG to re-weld the crack, or if I can just file it down to good enough and have at it?

Thanks in advance!

2. i tired to do a bit of mig work on the fiat....hit some brazing fill and it went to hell....had to grind it all out...maybe i missed some trick, i'm no welding expert by any means....

3. All of the brass has to go. You might want to make a patch to replace the area since it is probably stressed.

4. rdscotty

rdscotty
    from red deer

I agree

5. Ole don

Ole don

Readhead is right. The brass and steel have such different melting points, they are totally uncompatible. Re-braze, or do like it says above and replace a chunk of metal. I say that because it may be imposible to get the brass on the back and in the seams. It could blow back and burn you. If it has cracked twice, look for the cause.

6. Blue One

Blue One
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Alberta

Yes, the brass has to go. No way to MIG around or near or even on it. As suggested cut the whole area out and fab a new piece to MIG in place.

Re- brazing will only last a short time as there are stresses in the area that the brass is just not up to handling.

7. b-body-bob

b-body-bob

Thanks for the info, it's greatly appreciated.

Reason for the crack is likely a misadjusted door banging into the striker for years. I know it was doing that when I got the car but at this point it's a chicken and egg scenario.