Register now to get rid of these ads!

Sheetmetal Guys:I need advise/help

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by SPDJNKY, Dec 29, 2011.

1. This might seem like an easy fix but it's been fighting me so far. I'm relatively new at sheetmetal work so go easy. haha
    I have about five dents in the upper crown/edge of my firewall. They are deep and only about as round as a nickel. I tried to use a stud gun on them to pull them out but their not budging. I assume because the strength of the metal in the curve. I was going to try hammer n dolly them but it is a sharp curve on the back side which non of my dollies will fit in. The cab and firewall are welded to the frame because of the cage so I can't just remove the firewall. My thought was to go buy one of the dollies that is as round as a quarter and see if that will fit up in there or?
    My wise ass friends said to just mud over them but that would be too easy. :rolleyes:
    Any thoughts?
    [​IMG]

2. SlmLrd

SlmLrd
    from DAGO

I am by no means a "sheet metal guy" but if what Im seeing is right, you need a hammer on the inside, not a dolly. Tap it with your hammer and push the dent out. form with your dolly and you're good.

3. Couple taps with a ball peen hammer, not real fancy but it will work.

4. squirrel

squirrel

If you want to get fancy, take a piece of 1/4" x 1" steel strap, about a foot long. round one end with a grinder then put it on the dent from the bottom and carefully whack it with a hammer, move it around as you work the dent out.

5. Had that idea as well! Or make a T dolly like Ron Fournier shows in his book. Can you still GET his book? I bought mine darn near 30 years ago!!!!!!!!!

6. 49worktruck

49worktruck

On the same plane as squirrel, try a pipe nipple of the same radius and weld a tab on to hammer.

7. English Chop

English Chop

Attack them from behind, a little heat probably wouldn't hurt either.

8. Rusty O'Toole

Rusty O'Toole