Register now to get rid of these ads!

HAMB Airbrushers school me please

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by gasolinescream, Dec 21, 2011.

1. gasolinescream

gasolinescream

I'm after some advice as a first time airbrusher.

Self taught striper of sorts and really want to learn another skill. I enjoy striping and i think i'd enjoy messing with an airbrush. Big fan of fogged panel jobs, fogged trim, paint effects, lace, flake, etc, etc. I have a heap of things i could practice on and a mountain of ideas and be nice to do something on my current car.

I already have a new bench compresssor tucked away somewhere, i bought it 2 years ago when i first thought about it.

Question is what airbrush gun is best to buy and any books out there worth reading? I don't have a huge budget to play with and a complete novice, so pro equipment is not really needed. Just want to get enough kit together to be able to start having a play.

I will read up on it alot more but just hoping for someone here that knows their stuff on airbrushes and can give me some good advice.

Thanks in advance

Regards Dan

2. Good luck on your new adventure.

3. Dan
    Airbrushwas all the rage a few years back here in the HAMB. I don't know that a search would net you a lot of information because sometimes if it is real old it is real hard to pull up. maybe something in the tech archives.

Someone on here will know for sure. A lot of artists. Give this another bounce on friday when the artists are all showing off their stuff.

You no doubt are already familiar with the pinhead lounge? if not you may register and find some info there.

http://www.pinheadlounge.com/

4. 60galaxieJJ

60galaxieJJ

iwata makes THE BEST airbrushes and you can find them on craigslist fairly priced, best stater one id say if you dont want to spend more then $90 would be a iwata revolution CR. its what i started with and was able to paint some pretty wicked stuff with it then i upgraded.