Register now to get rid of these ads!

How to identify a 700R4 trans

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by rustyironman, Dec 15, 2011.

1. Okay, I know stupid question, but seriously I've never had a mouse-motor driveline ever in any of my old cars.

I got these two transmissions in a complicated trade deal. I was told they are 700R4's but I have no direct experience of how to ID one.

Thanks

Attached Files:

2. This might help
    TRANSMISSION ID (2).jpg

3. nsra_23

nsra_23
    from Indiana

the 700's have a rectangular trans pan with 16 bolt's, 5 down each side and 3 across the front and the back. The one on the left looks like it has the provisions for the torque arm from an F-body

4. They're both 700R4's

I believe the cleaner looking one is out of an "F" body.

I can tell you a little more if you have a little closer shot of the other side.

5. Jalopy Joker

Jalopy Joker

so, what are you going to do with them?

6. Okay, the cleaner one appears to be an "MD8" case and the dipstick tube does seem to be out of an "F" body car. I can't tell on the other tranny what case it has cause it's too greasy but I believe that dipstick tube is from a "B" body car.

GM made 3 types of cases. They made an "MD8", a "K" and a case with no designation. You want to stay away from the case with no markings. These are the worst 700's built. The cases are weak which leads to warpage and they will have a 27 spline input shaft which is also weak along with its internals.

I'd go with that "MD8" case unless the other one is a "K" case. These trannys usually have 30 spline input shafts with much stronger internals.

7. The tennitive thought is to use one behind a 350 V8 in a 55 stude

8. bigdav160

bigdav160

Post the code impressed into the boss on the right rear corner of the case and we can tell you the year and model.

9. VSO737

VSO737

Hi,
    Can you give me that info. Here is the CODE: 3 P F M 1 6 1 P

Thanks a bunch,
    Mike

10. HotRodDaddy-O