Register now to get rid of these ads!

Spray on Chrome..

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by IrishHills, Oct 28, 2010.

1. nicamarvin

nicamarvin
    from nicaragua

another simple set up

instead of using a stand alone rinsing spray gun, a water hose its used
    instead of using a dedicated sensitizing spray gun, a plastic hand sprayer its used

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVcu57xN538

Simple uh? :D now protecting the Silvered part its the tricky part...:eek:

2. prolab coatings

prolab coatings
    from England

Hello everyone.! I thought I would share my knowledge in this subject as I have 8 years experience actually doing the spray on chrome proccess.

First of all what you have to realise is that there is no spray on chrome there is no such thing. You are spraying silver nitrate. Second of all this is not a paint application it is a chemical application and you are appying a reaction of silver onto the basecoated part so you are trying to controll a chemicall reaction as it happens in front of you.

here are a few tips n tricks i do to make this proccess easy and i mean easy.

step 1 basecoat all parts 24 hours before silvering to make sure your basecoat is 100% dry.

step 2 when mixing your chemicals be sure to mix the sensitizer 30 mins before the other chemicals this ensures that the tin has bonded to the water molecules properly and will there fore wet the surface for longer.

step 3 if your chemical is reacting too fast for your liking half the chemical mix not the water. this will slow down the reaction time and the deposition of the silver making it more controlable. Dont forget your controlling a reaction this reaction is called (autocatalyst) read up on Brashears proccess and tollens theorys.

I hope this all helps if you have any questions post me.

3. M.Edell

M.Edell

My Grille,Windshield Frame and pitman arm all all spray chromed [​IMG]

4. CDXXVII

CDXXVII
    from Vermont