Register now to get rid of these ads!

History Fail or succes.Your first build story.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by iwanaflattie, Dec 10, 2011.

1. I did a search and found nothing.
    If improper,please delete or report it to get it deleted.

Hey Hamb, I'm in a stage where a lot of us have been once or twice.
    I need inspiration.
    What a better place than the Hamb and what better stories that the guys who do the best builds out there.

I am a first time builder.This is the first time I've taken a frame a shell and tried to make a cool ride that is safe,reliable and cool.
    I bet there is a few guys/gals out there,like me, who are in this stage too.
    I am very confident that I can fuck it up in a heartbeat,but If I work hard enough and bug the right people I will finish what i've started.
    I have no friends who are builders,I live far from part stores and shops but anything can be done.

I want to hear your first build,
    was it a success?
    was it a failure?
    Did you have help?
    Was it a one man operation?
    Did the project overwhelm you and you sold it?
    did it turn your attention lets say from building engines to pinstripe,photograph etc???

Tell us maybe your story will inspire a first time builder that wants to quit or thinks he/she cant do it.
    Inspire the new generation to build a safe,traditional if not period correct ride,and remember Pictures make a read more enjoyable.

2. My 1st build on my own. Not scratch built but a big job for a kid. (sorry no pics)
    1971, I was 16 years old. My buddy helped but knew less than I did.

I'd read in Hot Rod Magazine about putting a SBF V8 in a 61-67 Econoline Van. Found an ex-laundry service van for $250. Drove it home on Thursday after a stop at the car wash. Had the 6cyl engine ready to pull Friday night.