Register now to get rid of these ads!

Putting a Chrysler Industrial Hemi in a 52 Dodge truck

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by DanBabb, Mar 14, 2010.

1. rockable

rockable
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I know. I was very judicious and careful with it.

I think that Dan and Jared identified the first big problem. Somehow, the brake booster is leaking and the vacuum source for it was tapped into the runner for no. 7. By locking that off,the engine now idles smoothly and quietly.

The problem comes when the carb come off the idle circuit. The missing intensifies and the engine doesn't pull smoothly and strongly on a hard pull. The plugs are snow white.

Dan said the carb had been rejetted, so I'd bet my favorite ball cap that it is too lean on the main circuit. I'm no expert in jetting 4 barrels but I've done a multitude of Webers and Solexes and I'm sure I could fix it with jet changes.....if I read up on AFB's. :D

2. OahuEli

OahuEli
    from Hawaii

Snow white is definitely an indication of a lean mix, should be a tannish color. Try changing just the primarys first, since thats what you've been running on, but ID the secondarys. Good luck.

3. moparmonkey

moparmonkey
    from NorCal

AFB's are a piece of cake. You may not have to change the jets at all, just pull the rods (which come out of the top without even breaking the carb apart) and see what you have. If the plugs are white, try going to the next smaller size rod (richer). Edelbrock rods are the same as Carter AFB's, although not all the same sizes are offered. The rods have 2 steps, one for idle and another for accelerating, so if its not accelerating well at part throttle you probably need to go with a smaller rod size on both steps.