Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects My 1950 Ford Shoebox Project

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by sevenevez, Oct 27, 2010.

1. daddio211

daddio211

Here's my thought, and I'm not a brake expert so take it for what its worth.

The fluid is getting super-heated somewhere. As the fluid gets hot it expands, creating a hard pedal feel.

Next time you have this happen jump out and check each wheel for excessive heat. Yes, it will burn your hand so be careful! If you can't tell from the outside, reach under the car and get your hand NEAR the backing plate.

One wheel dragging can cause this problem. If you bleed the brakes you'll probably also find the fluid from one wheel is darker the the others, indicating burned fluid.

Keep us posted!

2. sevenevez

sevenevez
    from Yuma, AZ

ahh point. i am going to try to figure out the problem today ( i hope)

3. sevenevez

sevenevez
    from Yuma, AZ

well, i just took it for a ride to the gas station. then i got stranded till they cooled down. the brake pedal was hard as a rock. i checked the temperature on the wheels like you said and the rear's were fine but the fronts were hot. at least i got it home once it cooled down

4. studeboy

studeboy

The shoes on the drivers side looks backwards to me. The longer shoe (the one with the longer lining) should be on the rear side of drum. Not saying that the problem but it doesn't look right. Look at post 221 (pass side CORRECT) compared to post 231 (drivers side).

Also the second pic of the master has what looks like open exhaust right next to it. That could be the cause of over heating the fluid and resulting problems.

Hope you that helps

5. daddio211

daddio211

I think you're on to something in both cases Stude.

Seven, since we now surmise that the fronts are the problem we can address that. By the time we're done you should plan to resurface the drums as the heat may have warped them some.

6. sevenevez

sevenevez
    from Yuma, AZ