Register now to get rid of these ads!

Tech Request: The Be-All/End-All Flatty/Transmision Combo post...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Kilroy, Aug 9, 2005.

1. Kilroy

Kilroy
    from Orange, Ca

I have one...

I'm not running it right now but I'm holding on to it for a back-up...

It's pretty straight forward. If you are dealing with an 8BA, get the cast bellhousing, mount the housing to the block, line the trans shaft up with the flywheel/clutch, then mark and drill some extra wholes in the trans mount ears to mount it to the housing....

They are pretty bulletproof trannys. Not much you're going to do them with a flatty...

2. Digger_Dave

Digger_Dave
    Member Emeritus

As much as I would LIKE to have "three on the floor"; as someone mentioned up stream - when yer left leg don't work, (accident) a C4 is one of the next best choices!

3. flatjack

flatjack

You bet. I've been running 1 behind a 276 incher in my 39 for 11 years now. Shifter comes out about 1/2" from the stock location. Adapt a 39 shift lever and it looks stock. I'm running a Bronco rear with 3.70 gears and with 225 - 15s am turning 2500 rpm at 73 mph. Absolutely a great combo and no adapters needed.

4. flatjack

flatjack

Actually you can run either the cast or steel bellhousing. Need to open the hole a little because the bearing retainer is a little larger. 3 of the 4 mounting holes line up, you just need to fab a tab for the top left bolt. The other nice thing is like on my 39, you don't have to butcher the X member. I just took off the top plate and then turned it over to form tunnel for the tailshaft and made a crossmember for the mount.

5. HHRdave

HHRdave
    BANNED
    from So Cal