Register now to get rid of these ads!

Rant: People who think that drum brakes are dangerous

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Tugmaster, Nov 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I hate to sound like Andy Rooney, But you know what really bugs me? People who keep telling me that if you run drums on all 4 corners of you car your gonna wreck it. I'm not a engineer, professional mechanic or all knowing car guru but I've had cars with drum brakes for years and have never had issues. I've had close calls but not because of stopping distance. When I was in the Navy in Cal. I ran all over the place in my 63 Chevy pickup with drum brakes. Granted, if you run thru a reall deep puddle your brakes will not be great until you ride the pedal a little to try them out but other than that they are fine. I keep a reasonable distance from the guy in front of me, pay attention and son't drive stupid.
    Anyone else? Todd

2. NINE INCH

NINE INCH

I'm with you. No problems here either.

3. the lights

the lights

4. iFlip

iFlip
    from San Angelo

Better not drive at all then, since there's a chance you can wreck.:rolleyes:

As long as you pay attention, i don't see any problems with it. I had all 4 drums on my f100 and it stopped perfectly fine.

5. iammarvin

iammarvin
    BANNED
    from Tulare, Ca

Every big rig I have driven where drum braked. Just sayin....

6. me 2 ive had more "near wrecks" with antilock brakes then ive ever had with 4 drums

i hate antilocks

7. Some ricer "expert" tell you that?
    Everything I own now (except my 51 Ply) has 4 wheel discs, but I think drums work just fine...

8. Only the drum brakes with chrome backing plates are dangerous.........pull them off and send them to me RIGHT NOW!

9. waldo53

waldo53
    from ID