Register now to get rid of these ads!

You want to buy a 'good' quality spray gun to paint your hotrod - save some $$$!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Bored&Stroked, Oct 25, 2011.

1. My rant on thinking you need the 'Best' spray gun to paint your hotrod - think again, spend $125 and save some $$$:

I started painting cars when I was 15 years old (35+ years ago) - learned from one of the best in SoCal 'Pat Santini'. I bought what he and I considered the best spray gun at the time --> a Binks #7, with a Sharpe pot on it. Even at that time, it was $400+. (Fortunate I was!)

Soon after, I had three of them -> one for primer, one for color and one for clears. It is easy to have the best and assume that you always have to pay big $$$ - you just must have 'the best'. That is the way I always thought. I made a lot of money with those guns - they become 'best friends' in my hands after awhile. But I stopped painting for 20 years . . . changed occupations.

Fast Forward . . . I put painting down for 20+ years - recently got back into it (just for my hotrod projects). Of course I researched the latest and greatest "modern" stuff --> HVLP, RP --- IWata, Sata, etc..

So yes, I have a really nice digital Sata - RP . . . one hell of a gun . . . again, about $500 or so. Had it have it - was a 'spray gun bigot' from way back. :rolleyes:

BUT - I also bought a couple Devilbiss 'Finishline' guns - I figured they'd be maybe good enough for primer, etc.. Truth is, they are very good guns for the price.

I just painted an engine block -> shot the HOK KPC2F epoxy primer with a 1.8 nozzle, then used a 1.3 nozzle to shoot the red enamel. (Same gun).