Register now to get rid of these ads!

SBC vs Flathead

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Strong-arm, Jul 30, 2011.

1. kwmpa

kwmpa
    Member Emeritus
    from Pa

No I'm no expert I only repair restore flatheads for a living....so I know nothing about them or their drivability if you don't know me don't give your opinion about me

2. Yep 327 came out in '62.

3. 170 H.P for three thousand dollars? No thanks! Let me rephrase that. If I had a bunch of other cars already, I'd do it. and I plan to do it with one of my flattys in the garage. But I need something fast, traditional and cheap first.

4. 35hotrod

35hotrod
    from Duvall, WA

5. Yep no fuckin way.

6. jipp

jipp

i cant believe iv read all this and im confused. laughs.. for the guy who has the hate from down under.. i can only think he is getting his cam info from the 305 thread.. where the topic talks about chevy using a different heat treating method for its cams ( its the only place i can ever remember reading about problems with sbc cams as iv never personally experience problems from any mouse iv owned.. only engine i ever had issues with was from a ford pinto and it was a POS.. nothing to do with ford.. laughs).. from what i understand this was only done on the 305.. now im not loyal to any engine brand.. but i can say iv never ever experience anything like this guy from down under and i too want his weed.