Register now to get rid of these ads!

Flathead carnage

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Chris, Aug 8, 2011.

1. flatheadpete

flatheadpete
    from Burton, MI

Larry, you're fired. ;)
    Blower? Please say the old V8 is gettin a blower.

2. Under compression it could not push oil/fuel into the water jacket? Thats what it looked like happened, there was a black trail on the block from number 7 to that upper keystone right were the dark mark on the gasket was. It was running a bit warm, not overheating but was foaming from the cap. Look at the photo of the drivers side head surface...it's hard to see but you can see the dark spot. I'm not an expert by any means, were else can oil leak into the cooling system but not coolant into the oil??

Last edited: Aug 9, 2011
  3. OK, on to other things, heres a sneak peek. I went to my Dads tonight as he is helping me get this thing together. My Dad has built hundreds (if not thousands) of flatheads over the years. He is a true master! He machined it a while back, and we cleaned it up, got the lifter valley and timing srea coated and the cam bearings in. That was all I had time for tonight, hope to get back on it later this week.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. Kiwi 4d

Kiwi 4d
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

No carnage here , just a little bit of a flathead mystery.

5. Paul

Paul
    Editor

I agree with the diagnosis, the gasket seal was bad, you can see in the gasket pictures and the piston tops on the passenger side are partialy washed clean
    it doesn't take much oil/gas to make rusty coolant look like that

if it was a crack or some other failure I would expect to see water in the oil as well

the new block looks beautiful,
    so, is that a Mercury then?
    can you tell us what your plans are?

6. hotrod-40

hotrod-40

On top of it already ;)

7. JeffreyJames

JeffreyJames
    from SUGAR CITY

I figured you would be. That's mighty SWENSON of you. :D

8. thunderbirdesq

thunderbirdesq