Register now to get rid of these ads!

29-59 Chevy straight axle 6 lug disc brake project

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 6inarow, Sep 25, 2010.

1. 6inarow

6inarow

I looked for quite a while and could never find one thread for dropped axle with a disc brake conversion for chevy straight axle keeping the 6 lugs. So here is my project and I'll show how I did it and where I got the parts and what the actual cost was to me. Heck, I'll even show where I goofed and where I spent too much money and how I would change things. Its still not done completely, but I'll update it in the next week or so when its completely done.

I am no mechanic - I am an average guy in an average garage with regular hand tools. I had to get some machine shop help and I'll give the prices there too. The threads entitled "my dropped axle and disc brakes for $300" really bother me because my world doesn't work that way. Seems like I never get the freebies like that guy did or the trade ends up costing me more than if I had just bought it outright.

This axle is for the 33 Chevy sedan in my profile. I am just finishing the car Rollie started as a kid with his father in 1963. Rollie asked me to drive it back to Purifoy's when I am done with it. Heck I intend to drive it all over the place. So, if discs arent "traditional" enough for you, quit reading right now, and lets not have that debate.