Register now to get rid of these ads!

260 engine rebuild

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by octanefam, May 30, 2011.

1. octanefam

octanefam

Ok guys I picked up a extra Ford 260 engine to rebuild and need some pointers on where to start. Yes I'm a newbie when it comes to rebuilding motors etc but thats why I'm here.....

So the plan is to rebuild the new engine and then take out the original engine in my 63 Mercury Meteor and rebuild that one as that one has some white smoke when running. I would like to keep the original engine pretty much stock without a lot of changes but the new engine I wouldn't mind a little extra goodies depending on cost. The new engine that I got on craiglist for $100 the only thing I know about it is the engine did run but the guy that I got it from bought a 63 Falcon parts car and was going to use that engine as well but found a deal he couldn't pass up on a 289 so now I have it. The engine is pretty much complete comes with the generator setup as well so where do I begin??

Here are some pictures of what I'm working with.....

1963 Mercury Meteor

[​IMG]

Original Engine

[​IMG]

New Engine

[​IMG]

Another New Engine Photo

[​IMG]

Thank you for any suggestions and ideas.

Todd

2. okiewelder

okiewelder
    from central Ok

seems like I had a friend rebuild one back in the 80's and he had issues with the lifter sizes? You may want to check that out.