Register now to get rid of these ads!

322 Nailhead Wont Start

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 3spd, Jul 3, 2011.

1. 3spd

3spd

I have been trying to get the 322 nailhead in my '56 Buick Wagon to run but just cant get it. This is my first time trying to start a engine that has been sitting.

The engine turns over and has compression. I have the spark wires routed correctly. I am getting spark. I am gravity feeding the carb gas. The accelerator pump on the carb is working and all the jets are clear.

So far I have:

New points and condenser, new wires, new dist cap, new spark plugs.

The engine has only a very basic wiring. Its just wired up to run with a momentary switch to turn it over.

Ive tried pouring gas down the carb, starter spray, having someone turn the distributor while I crank it, cleaning all the spark plugs and letting the engine air out...

Any one have any suggestions? Or better yet; anyone in the Portland area feel like coming over and taking a look at it?

Did I leave any needed information out?

Thanks,
    Ryland

2. spark, fuel and air. is the exhaust clear. i've had mouse nest plugged exhausts keep a engine from running.

3. belair

belair

I THINK the front passenger side plug is number one. Are you timing it off of the correct plug?

4. Bigchuck

Bigchuck
    from Austin, TX

Coil working? Do you have good primary and secondary spark? Should be a strong blue spark not a weak orange spark. It needs fuel, spark, air, compression, and timing to run. Sorry, Portland is a little out of the way for me to help ya out in person.

5. Dan Timberlake

Dan Timberlake

Were you an eye-witness that it ran before being parked ?

how did you test spark?

How did you test compression?
    much under a quick building 80 psi may not start without being pushed at 30 mph. I am not confident The "thumb test" can tell 30 from 150 psi.