Register now to get rid of these ads!

History NHRA Junior Stock

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by colesy, Aug 12, 2007.

1. Chuck Norton

Chuck Norton
    from Division 7

I'm no expert but I'd guess that was a device that was intended to stabilize the somewhat marginal rear suspension on the X-frame '62 chassis. Those cars had coil springs with dual lower trailing arms but only one factory upper trailing arm that wasn't all that substantial, especially for a stick 409 car. During that era there was lots of experimentation with chassis set-ups. It seems to me that Joe Smith, tuner and driver for the Fenner-Tubbs dealership in Texas had traction bars that reached almost to the rear bumper.

On the other hand, it might be something like a concealed dump for a moonshine tank, in which case, I never said anything about it and I'm not even sure that I can see what you're talking about.

c

2. That's Jerry Ryan's Olds and he DOES still have it today.

3. Paul Ceasrine

Paul Ceasrine
    from Wilton, CT

'Rico Suave'

General information you asked for.
    I tried a PM, but would not go through.

1967 Plymouth Barracuda convertible, with a 383/280 HP, 4-speed.
    Car weight = 3224 lbs.
    11.51 wt/hp, which meant it fell into D/S in 1967 (11.30 - 11.88).

But in 1968, it would have a good weight break, as it would fall into
    H/S (11.50 - 11.99).

Unfortunately, only '9' of those 67' Barracuda convertibles, with a 383 4-speed were built.
    Bet not one was raced on a 'regular' basis back then.

Low horsepower rating was due to a de-tweaked Carter 525 AFB carburetor,
    poor flowing intake manifold, and restrictive dual-exhaust system (1 7/8" piping)
    and pretzel-shaped driver side exhaust manifold.

pc

4. Try this one out for size! :D Or did you have a different pic in mind?

cureton3zjzSMG.gif

Last edited: Jun 27, 2011
  5. DW31S

DW31S
    from Sparks,MD