Register now to get rid of these ads!

4 Speed Tranny

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by davey_shumard, Jun 23, 2011.

1. davey_shumard

davey_shumard

i just bought a 4 speed from a guy, it is in need of a few things, nothing major, clutch and throw out bearing. got it for a cool $80, i thought that was cheap enough.

My question is: the guy told me that it is "an overdrive 4 speed" which i have never heard of. i'm new at this though, so there are a LOT of things i've never heard of. the trans came out of an early 80s chevy pickup. it looks the same as any 4 speed i've ever seen, but the guy swore up and down that it was an overdrive 4th gear.

Any ideas, or was he just confused?

2. 26 roadster

26 roadster

I know ford made them, 4th gear is o/d, kinda like a 3speed with a built in o/d. The fords were not all that strong

3. Deuces

Deuces

Saginaw(sp) maybe??

4. davey_shumard

davey_shumard

i think this is just a generic saginaw out of a chevy, that had a very confused previous owner. ;)

could anyone explain to me the math i need to figure my RPM at 70 based on engine-trans-differential gear-tire size? I'm just not sure what kind of RPM this thing will be turning down the highway, and its gonna be the daily driver, (too broke for two cars!).

thanks

5. Ebbsspeed

Ebbsspeed
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I think Chevy used a variant of the 833 overdrive trans in some vehicles. It would be VERY easy to tell if it is an overdrive trans. Put a mark on the input and output shafts. Put it in 4th gear. Turn the input shaft one rotation. If the output shaft turns a bit more than one rotation it's an overdrive. If not, the marks will still line up after one rotation.

6. propwash

propwash
    from Las Vegas

I'd suggest five rotations....depending on what you market the shafts with, one rotation may not be as obvious as you might think.

dj

7. Davey