Register now to get rid of these ads!

65 Bonne 8 Lug Tire Size Help......

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 63novaman, May 15, 2011.

1. 63novaman

63novaman
    from seminole

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie from Florida. I have a 65 Pontiac bonneville in need of new tires. The current size is 225/70/14 on 8 lugs, I was told by the tire shop that the size was incorrect and they do not have a clue to what i need??? Can any please tell me the correct size tire for my Bonne and what brand you recommend?

Thanks in advance
    Phil

2. KJSR

KJSR
    from Utah
    1. Utah HAMBers

Your Bonneville has 8 lug? Is it a 4x4?

3. v8 garage

v8 garage

4. 8 lug pontiac rims and drums are the hot set up.

Ok so first question I have is If they have no clue what you need HOW DO THEY KNOW ITS WRONG ?

Factory size was 8.00 x 14 . Do the 225/70/14 fit nice and work well? 225/75/14 would also be a good choice. Hope you got the mounting plate. Im going to guess that tire shop will mess you up if they have no clue what tires you need. Find a well established tire shop with someone who has a bit of gray hair and dirty hands, they'll know what 8 lug pontiac wheels are.

Welcome to the hamb , be sure to do an intro and post some pics of your pontiac

5. KJSR

KJSR
    from Utah
    1. Utah HAMBers

Wow, never knew that. Learn something new every day!

6. robertsregal

robertsregal

We had a set of eight lugs on our 1968 catalina convert the size you mentioned should work fine as suggested if you do not have a backing plate for mounting and balancing purposes you will need to get one, and yes alot of folks have never seen or heard of this great pontiac drum and wheel set up! They Rock!!

Attached Files:

7. 63novaman

63novaman
    from seminole