Register now to get rid of these ads!

My 1950 Mercury Project

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jville_hot_skater, Apr 18, 2011.

1. jville_hot_skater

jville_hot_skater
    from jville

My father gave me this car...he had it nearly 15 years...its been sitting in the garage for years.
    I finally took some pics.
    im currently rebuilding the front end,
    all new bushings, bearings, balljoints.
    its a 1973 camaro front end.
    i also pick up a great deal on a 1968 camaro inline 6 running.
    this car hasnt had an engine in it for nearly over 2 decades.
    ...il try to post more pictures as i continue.
    im no professional, im only 22 yrs old but im really not trying to build a custom...just trying to build what i want.

Attached Files:

2. Chevy 6 in a 50 Merc , please don't do it.

3. BICKFORD

BICKFORD
    BANNED
    from CA

AWESOME!! do what you want with it. its your car. running a six is different for sure. if thats what you have or it was a god deal. then go for it.

4. smarg

smarg

Doesn't look like he got to the transmission tunnel or anything yet.

Would I do the inline 6? No, but do what you want.

The chop looks sweet!

5. Before this thread becomes all about your powerplant first let me say the chop looks great from here and it's very cool that this was given to you by your dad. Tons of potential from what I can see.

That being said are you tossing in this Chev 6 because you WANT a chopped merc with a Chev 6, or because as you put it "it was a good deal".