Register now to get rid of these ads!

walking foot sewing machine

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by opu27, Apr 4, 2011.

1. opu27

opu27
    from ONYX,CALIF

Want an industrial sewing machine for doing interior for my 27 roadster. I won't use leather. Singer, Pfaff, Consew or maybe other. Would like an older machine with experence. Need advice from others, bad and good. Thanks, Dick :)

2. badsco

badsco

I am in no way experienced in upholstery, but I bought a JUKI LU563 in the local classifieds for around $500 to do exactly what you describe. This is an industrial machine made for this kind of thing, and can sew many layers of whatever you throw at it.
    Owning an old Singer (though not a walking foot) there is no comparison here.
    Most of the industrial machines use a motor that runs continuously and clutch setup, where you engage (slip) as needed. As a beginner I found this way too fast and very hard for me control, so figured out a pulley arrangement to cut it by 1/3.
    I found a local sewing machine supply/service center to have the machine checked out and serviced after I bought it. Between them, my local upholstery supplier and some upholstery books I checked out of the library I got a ton of great info.
    Research whatever make/model you find first - make sure that parts are easy to find, as well as different welting feet, bobbins etc. Stuff for my JUKI is available everywhere

3. zman

zman
    from Garner, NC

check the classifieds, there are a few, and this should really be in the wanted section there.

4. no... i think he's good here. its a looking for advice thread... i for one am curious to see the replies.

5. zman

zman
    from Garner, NC

6. mtpockits

mtpockits