Register now to get rid of these ads!

Double flaring brake lines

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by bobj49f2, Apr 2, 2011.

1. bobj49f2

bobj49f2

I am in the process of plumbing the brake system for my '37 Buick. I've done my share of brake work but I'm not an expert. Usually if I needed to replace a line I'd buy a premade piece and install it and if I needed a longer run I'd buy two pieces that made up the length and joined them with the proper brake line union. On the Buick I decided I want to run solid pieces of brake line from point to point. This is the first time I've ever made my own double flared ends. Before starting I searched the HAMB to find out how the "experts" did it. I found some very helpful posts.

I started by borrowing a double flaring kit from Advance Auto, the place I bought my line from. I attempted about 10-15 times to do a double flare and I wasn't successful at any. The groves in the clamp were pretty smooth and I didn't think they were gripping the tubing properly. I borrowed a kit from a friend and my luck changed. After doing about 5 crappy flares I hit on how to do them. I still didn't do them 100% but I got decent. I even had my 17 year old son doing them, he did about as good as me. After I did a successful flare I cleaned it off and inspected it under a magnifying glass for any flaws or cracks. I did this with all of the "good" flares. Of the flares I thought looked good from just casually looking at them about 25% had minor flaws I found under the magnifying glass and I rejected them. I don't think I was being too picky, I just wanted to make sure they were as close to perfect as possible.