Register now to get rid of these ads!

Any tricks for....

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by sinks88, Feb 11, 2011.

1. sinks88

sinks88

Taking out rear tires/wheels from a very very tight body/drum area....
    <O:p</O:p
    I’ve been battling this for a couple years, and have about had it....<O:pI could narrow of replace the rear-end (but don’t want to have to spend money like that just to change tires) <O:pI could cut the damn fender up (but of course don’t want to do that either!<O:p</O:p
    I don’t even know how I ever got them on in the first place!!!! sheesh<O:p</O:p

Anyway, I know this is a little vague, but I know there are guys out there with similar problems, and I was curious if there are any tricks<O:p</O:p

Attached Files:

2. 76cam

76cam

I always jack the car up by the frame so the rear tire drops down some.That way youre not fighting the tight spot.

3. hinklejd

hinklejd
    from Fort Worth

If you're looking at options to remove the tire to say, change a flat, then the simple method would be to jack the car from the frame and let the axle droop. A bottle jack probably would not have enough throw, but a bumper style jack would take up a lot of room. Perhaps a jack under the axle to lift the tire well clear of the ground, then a jackstand under the frame, and lower the jack and allow the axle to droop enough to give clearance to remove the tire. This is assuming your shocks and brake lines have enough slack to allow the axle to droop.

4. That combined with a block of wood under the opposite rear tire for extra drop. It's a pain in the ass but the only way I could get the rear tires off a lowered 65 catalina I had.

5. fab32

fab32
    Member Emeritus