Register now to get rid of these ads!

Soda blasting results .......

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by gmgrunt, Feb 9, 2011.

1. gmgrunt

gmgrunt

2. allengator

allengator
    from Keller, TX

Actually... that looks like what I would expect.
    Soda just isnt that aggressive... which means it isnt as dangerous to the panels... But you cant expect SAND blasting results...

3. treb11

treb11
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Soda will not remove rust, its too soft.

4. fab32

fab32
    Member Emeritus

Looks like he could have used something a little more aggressive and gotten it right down to bare metal. I'm no expert but I wouldn't be satisfied with that job as it looks like there is still oxidation on the surface.

Frank

5. 100% Matt

100% Matt

Typically glass or walnut shells are used to remove rust not powder

6. Aaron51chevy

Aaron51chevy

Geeze so what IS the point of soda blasting, if you have to go back and still sand the whole car down? GMGrunt coulda done that to begin with and saved the money of the blasting....

7. 26 roadster

26 roadster

looks like it's been soda blasted.
    point is its easy to clean up, more well suited to carbs and non ferrous metals

8. ArchangelKustom

ArchangelKustom
    from NR/OH

What did it look like when you started?

Soda won't take off rust, but it almost looks like the car was exposed to humidity and the bare metal 'flash rusted'. You've got to get primer on it quick to prevent that.

You might be able to make up a naval jelly solution and wash the body down with it, using a scotchbrite pad to scrub. When done right it leaves a really nice shiny metal finish, and will kill off surface rust.

9. R Frederick

R Frederick
    from illinois

Looks like someone painted over the metal in that condition. Looks like it's ready for the DA sander and some Evapo rust. Be happy that the paint isn't still on there to gum up sheet after sheet of expensive sandpaper.

10. V8 Bob

V8 Bob
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

11. Russco