Register now to get rid of these ads!

wtf do some people think when "fixing" things

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by shocker998md, Feb 4, 2011.

1. shocker998md

shocker998md

So I'm working on cleaning up the wiring under the dash on my truck so the I can fix my turn signals. Some jackass wired stuff with friggin extension cords! I'm not a pro wire guy by no means, but that is just nasty how its done. The windsheild wiper switch musta gone bad at some time, so they put in a two speed switch and hacked it all up and popped an extension cord in. I'm going back out to clean up somemore stuff and hopefully prime the inside of the cab tonight.

2. Master of None

Master of None

Sounds like I'd be investing in a new wiring harness,hate to have your project burn up.

3. texas rattler

texas rattler
    from texas

rule no 1 never ever let a home/commercial electrican work on a car! they love to use wire nuts and romex .they may know 120/220/440v etc but 12v throws em every time!

4. newsomtravis

newsomtravis
    from pville, ca

finally someone else said it, i got into a huge fight with a couple of electrciians on here about some auto wiring........and it was pretty simple.......the guy thought he needed 2 wires for everthing on his car, and another electrician was telling him yeah, the frame and body aren`t good grounds.......had a friend whos dad was an electrician, he brought his car to me to rewire, found enough extension cord type wire and wire nuts to wire a house.......

5. davidwilson

davidwilson
    from Tennessee

i've seen cars where trailer wiring was used (yellow-green-brown) why not buy the right colored wires to use?

6. shocker998md

shocker998md

I dont get why someone would even put the time and effort into doing it wrong. I mean ive made stuff work, and im not building barret jackson stuff, but jeez man. I cant get over me looking under the dash and just saying WTF.

7. violet springs

violet springs