Register now to get rid of these ads!

Art & Inspiration Some "hot rod" music you may not have heard before

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Saxman, Jan 26, 2011.

1. Hey guys, This is a little OT, but not really.

I've been a professional musician for about 35 years. In about 1980 (when I was just a 20 year old kid) I met a cat named Johnny Zorro who was an incredible jazz guitarist. To make a long story short, I played with him for many years and still play with him from time to time. He's in his 80's now but still playing as well as he ever did.

I won't presume to even begin to tell his story, but he played for years with Page Cavanaugh, he was a recording artist with Warner Bros. in the late 50's/early 60's, and he even appeared in an old Elvis movie. Through Johnny I have met many famous artists and heard many amazing stories.

What's really cool is that there are various people out there who have discovered his old records and put them online.

Check these out. Sounds like Hot Rod/surf music to me, man!

Road Hog
    Coesville (check out the cool album cover on this one)
    Bongo Guitar

I know many of you have known old hot rodders who have been mentors to you, Johnny Zorro has been that for me in music. It's an honor and a privilege to know him and I hope you will enjoy his music. Finding one of these records would be like a '32 Roadster barn find to me...well almost. Enjoy!

Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
  2. beauishere

beauishere

Cool. Thanks for the links.

3. Sonny48

Sonny48
    from Mo.

That cat was a beatnic daddyo....sounds like a little Ventures goin' on too. Good tunes.

LIFE'S A GAMBLE......LET EM' ROLL

4. sport fury

sport fury

now that's the kind of music you want to hear when your cruising around in a hotrod. to me your thread is not off topic at all. you can not beat the combination of traditional hotrods and late 50's early 60's instrumentals.

5. tHANKS! gREAT LINKS!

6. Triggerman

Triggerman
    from NorCal