Register now to get rid of these ads!

welding with a pacemaker

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by dragster, Jan 6, 2011.

1. 57 3100

57 3100

my father has the combo pacemaker / defibrillator, which was installed 14 months ago.
    i took him to his cardiologist 2 weeks ago, since my father now has a broken leg and cant drive.
    the doctor was using his computer to check the operation of my fathers pace / defib, and me, being a welder by trade, asked the doctor if i had one, if i could still weld. he said yes, no problem, and before i could ask, the doctor said all types of welding, including TIG. he then went on to tell me he has a few patients that are welders and have no problems.
    but obviously, you should check with your doctor and see what he says.... maybe the older units you could not.

leonard

2. threeston

threeston

Instead of twisting the lines together (which only reduces noise absorption for computer, or analog signal lines). Instead get some of that aluminum tape and wrap that around the cables as a shield which becomes grounded. of course that should also be covered with a suitable rubber or plastic insulation for conductive reasons. but this will create a very effective shield for the cables themselves. of course the spark gap is the really dirty signal. (try playing with a car battery near a radio, by shorting or closing a circuit so that sparks occur it hams all frequencies).

Then if you are really worried there are faraday cage like clothing garments that the "paranoia industry" has developed which would actually work really quite well I imagine.
    these would need to be grounded and also protected from being shorted on anything. (worn under a garment, over another garment so not to touch skin).