Register now to get rid of these ads!

Portland Swap meet

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 52hotrod, Jan 2, 2011.

1. 52hotrod

52hotrod

I just booked my hotel for the Portland swap meet! I'm stoked, got a great deal, $99 a night at Oxford suites. It's my first time to the swap meet, any suggestions or helpful tips? Also any great places to eat? Thanks

2. Bring good walking shoes.

3. Joe King

Joe King

so, when is it?

4. Go to the track first. It seems that the better deals are there. Alot more action also.
    We usually head down Thursday night, do a quick walk around the track. Friday morning wake up early and do the track, and then do the exhibition center. Then we eat dinner and do a quick walk around the track again. Saturday morning we do another lap and then head home Saturday night. We take the RV so we have a base camp for liquid refreshments and food.

5. 52hotrod

52hotrod

6. Jay Rush

Jay Rush

Bring a hand truck or cart One year my Dad found a good deal on a Mac side cabinet 15 minutes in the gate but ended up buying a old airport luggage cart to tote it around

And good walking shoes

7. 52hotrod

52hotrod

So which one is better? or do i try and do both?

8. Jay Rush

Jay Rush

How many days are you going to be there ?

9. 52hotrod

52hotrod

getting there friday and leaving sunday, not sure on times yet.

10. I like the Track. More layed back vendors. If you are looking for cars then the upper Expo is better but you will be paying higher doller for most things. Thats my take. I have been to it about 10 times.

11. But isn't the lure, two swap meets together?

12. THE_DUDE

THE_DUDE

Yea man I bring a backpack if I'm just lookin for little stuff. The cart idea is a good one if big parts are your thing. Most times I ask to leave the big stuff at the booths were I bought it and pick it up on the way out.

13. Jay Rush

Jay Rush