Register now to get rid of these ads!

To Lead or Weld

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by cutthroat corps, Dec 31, 2010.

1. cutthroat corps

cutthroat corps

I am wanting to fill the seam on the hood of my 52 Chevy and a couple of other areas. I know how to lead and weld but I have never done a line this long before. What would be the best method?

2. I'd weld it then use lead to fill the imperfections.

3. cutthroat corps

cutthroat corps

Thank you porknbeaner

4. F&J

F&J

The problem with lead is the acid. If there is just a small place that traps acid, the lead will bubble over time. I have pics of my factory paint 69 Dart seams, and EVERY factory lead seam on that car had bubbled though these decades. I dug out the lead and found rust from trapped acid...even up high on the cowl and rear deck panel.

I would weld and use modern methods.

5. farmer12

farmer12

^^^what he said^^^ good luck

6. 19Fordy

19Fordy

Many years ago when I was 20 I covered the seam of my 53 Chevy hood with a strip of fiberglass cloth followed by bondo. No distortion and it worked out just fine and never cracked or separated. Why weld it and risk warping.

7. randy

randy

I'd do like 1" welds every 6"+ or so. Jump around when welding to limit distortion. Lead the whole seam after that. Limited welding distortion. Use a propane torch to do your leading so you can keep the heat down.

Have fun.
    -r

-r

8. 6berry

6berry

i did mine with welding it a couple tacks at a time and letting it cool. not too fast or you will easily warp your hood

9. pimpin paint

pimpin paint
    from so cal

Hey,

What kinda welding have you done, and on what?