Register now to get rid of these ads!

steering wheel epoxy

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ago, Oct 23, 2010.

1. tommy

tommy
    Member Emeritus

I use a hack saw blade to widen the crack effectively cleaning the sides of the crack removing any loose material.

I like to under cut the crack so that the base of the crack is wider than the top of the crack. I was afraid that a hairline crack might appear over time and the patch could fall out. I was over thinking the thing. it never occurred in 15 years.

On a really bad banjo I bead blast the cracks and missing areas to get rid of the rust on the steel hoop so that the PC-7 will bond. I like to prepare the surface where the PC-7 will adhere just like sanding before you paint. It has worked for me.

2. bothred

bothred

I have a little different approach to steering wheel repair. I am a jeweler and when I have to repair a gold item, I have to use the same material as the item that I am working on. Through a little bit of experimentation, I have found that if you take a bit of plastic that is similiar to the material that the wheel is made of, you can melt that and use it to repair the wheel. The trick is in the melting. I have a 1960 Chevy steering wheel that needed a large area to be replaced and this is what I did. I found an old steering wheel about the same age and cut some of the plastic off of it and put it in a yellow mustard squeeze container, (not affected by solvents). To that I added a small quantity of MEK, a solvent found at Lowes, etc. The MEK put the plastic into solution and then it was easy to use the squeeze container to apply the melted plastic to an area to be repaired. What's neat about this method is that when you apply this to the steering wheel plastic, it melts the material you are applying it to and forms a better bond than if you are using an epoxy that is disimiliar to the original material. In summation, use the same material as the original wheel to repair it wi