Register now to get rid of these ads!

65 ford ranch wagon - advice and resources needed

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Cynical 1, Nov 14, 2010.

1. Cynical 1

Cynical 1

hello all. i am introducing my current project to you guys in the hopes of getting some advice, opinions and resources.

i am a high school automotive instructor, and just picked this car up for my auto class to work on. we are in winder, ga.

car is a 1965 (per title) Ford Fairlane Ranch Wagon. totally stock and original, with a v8 (289 based on internet resources), 3 on the tree, and a pretty decent body and underside.

pics:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

body - i am looking for some advice on the car. i know this is not a "traditional" rod, or a "rat rod" in the sense it is a 60's era car, not the 30's-50's era rats or rods... but the kids are split on paint or leaving the patina and running it as a rat. my thoughts and concerns are taking it to shows and having it shunned by all if it is left with the current patina and rust on the body (body is solid with zero dents and minimal rust perforation at the rear wheel arches). so, what are the current opinions on what to do - leave it or paint it?

suspension - looking for a good place to buy all new rubber for the suspension - bushings, ball joints, brake lines, etc... i know NAPA and such can get some of it, but i'm looking for some quality yet economical stuff to redo the suspension. plans are for air bags on all 4 corners as well...

brakes - what is an inexpensive front disc setup with a dual master cylinder? i saw starbird's makes the brackets... but looking again for an economical setup.

interior - i near mint. no rips in the seats, just dirty. dash needs a new cap/pad. where to find a good, cheap one?

engine - probably going to try and get it running. car only has 91k on it. any tips/tricks on making it reliable?

exterior - where to get new weatherstriping. steele rubber, or somewhere else?