Register now to get rid of these ads!

Heres my plan, i need your help (51 chevy)

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by visualillusions, Nov 5, 2010.

1. I have a completely stock 1951 chevy deluxe, im new at this so here is my plan. Please tell me what you think or any advice would really help me out.

I want to keep the original 216, redo it with hyrolic lifters, cam, dual carbs and a 12 volt system. It has the powerglide trans but i would really like a 4 speed, is it a difficult swap? Also put a S10 front clip on it so i can run disks and i def want to bag her. Rearend is were im a little lost.... what would be a good rearend swap so i can have disks and a dependible rear, late model camaro? Please teach a young guy a thing or three ;) Thanks

2. gimpyshotrods

gimpyshotrods
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

We need to figure out if you have a 216 or a 235. Generally, if it has a 'Glide behind it it is a 235, unless it was swapped, and if it is a native 235 + 'Glide combo, then it already has hydraulic lifters. It may be a low-pressure splash-oiling system 235, though. Post a picture of the driver's side of the block and we'll know for sure.

The 4-speed, or even a 5-speed is do-able, if you can find all of the right parts.

Not sure on the clip, but someone will weigh in. Tons of options.

You won't need disc on the rear. They are overkill on anything but a race car.

Last edited: Nov 5, 2010
  3. El Caballo

El Caballo
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Ask the squirrel, but first do a search on 235's here on the forum. You will learn quite a bit that way.

4. KaliRodding

KaliRodding
    from Nor-Cal

Hes not looking for advise on search function. If that's the best advise you can give with 4k post, go back to the drawing board.

5. gimpyshotrods

gimpyshotrods
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

Hey now, in this case the search is a really good idea. We've got a TON of info on the 216-235-261. If he's gonna do the work and keep the car, he should know it.

6. 53chevpickup