Register now to get rid of these ads!

timing mark jumping around, why?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by DOUBLEZO, Nov 3, 2010.

1. DOUBLEZO

DOUBLEZO
    from SACramento

the stats, 8ba with 400 miles. pertronix in a bubba gm dizzy, new epoxy pertronix coil, new wires, new ngk plugs, new stromberg carb. while setting my timing the timing mark will jump around a bit. the engine sort of stumbles when this happens. the mark always jumps to the advance side. i really dont know what to look for anymore and its driving me insane. any thoughts? thanks.

2. 49ratfink

49ratfink
    from California

I'd check the advance in your bubba gm dizzy

3. 53sled

53sled
    from KCMO

What does the vacuum gauge tell you? I've read on here that you can diagnose just about anything with a gauge and a spark plug reading. I'm no expert though.

4. lowsquire

lowsquire
    from Austin, TX

Mine did that when my plugs were dying.. I had my carbs set up too rich and it was killing plugs..I think what happened was the resistance in the plugs caused some sort of cross firing in the cap? might be wrong, could be the pertronix.. thats just a guess.
    I would have a chat to Bubba, he'll no doubt set it right.

5. landseaandair

landseaandair
    from phoenix

I had one (Pertronix) do that on me. Worked fine, removed it to swap motors, put it back in and when I tried to time it, the mark moved around like the sequential tail light on an old Cougar. I gave up and put the points back in.

6. noboD

noboD

I've seen timing marks bounce around with a bad harmonic balancer too, but that should not effect the way it runs.

7. DOUBLEZO

DOUBLEZO
    from SACramento

i just hooked it up to a vacume guage as was suggested. at idle which is set to about 500 the needle bounced between 17 1/2 and 19 1/2. hmmmm?

8. crash11049

crash11049

This is from a Stewart-Warner Motor Minder vacume gauge, dont know if it will help or not. [​IMG]