Register now to get rid of these ads!

Poboyross' Budget Model A Build....Sans the Model A :P

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by poboyross, Oct 26, 2010.

1. poboyross

poboyross
    from West TN

I didn't want to blow smoke as if I've already got my frame, body, and all pieces ready and rarin' to go, so that's why I named this thread what I did. I read a lot of posts on here about how guys got parts in cool ways and for cool prices, so I figured I'd head that route....how I get my parts piece by piece and post the stories here, along with the interesting tidbits I learn along the way for other "A" noobs who come after.

I'm new to A's, so this will be as big a learning experience as my first build, my 50 Chevy. I'm planning on it being as much of a budget build as humanly possible, for multiple reasons:

-baby on the way
    -decreasing cash flow
    -Would rather obsess about getting a deal than a part that others think is "cool"
    -did I mention the baby?

Towards that end, I want to build a car that utilizes more of the OEM parts than newer ones, and modify existing parts instead of buying new bling. This will likely require me to change my plans from time to time, based on what I can find. I know what my general target is, but if somehow an A sedan body came up for a steal, then that's the way I'm going to go, as opposed to the coupe that I'm envisioning. This may sound dumb, but originally being a sculptor who used clay, you have to let the medium talk to you sometimes, instead of telling IT what to do. I'm going to apply this to my build. If I find artillery wheels for free instead of wire wheels for $200, as long as it doesn't detract from the look, that's what I'll use. In essence, the car will partially build itself based on "directed circumstance", if you will.

What inspired me most is Seret's Orange Jalopy Model A Coupe thread:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]