Register now to get rid of these ads!

Features VINTAGE SPRINT CAR PIC THREAD, 1965 and older only please.

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Joshua Shaw, Jan 17, 2008.

1. Offy 220

Offy 220

Hi Gary,

Thanks for the comments concerning the paint on the Watson / Foyt sprint car. I painted it back in early 2000's in my dad's garage. Dean Jeffries originally painted the car, I copied it to best of my ability from pictures. It is basically black / white and red with pearl added to the paint. My cousin who is a sign painter by trade did the lettering. Everything else on the car was done in the garage by my dad and I.

It was recently sold at the RM auction back in August. I glad to see that the new owner has put it out in shows. The car sat in our garage for years, I am glad it is finally appreciated.

Offy 220

2. gnichols

gnichols
    from Tampa, FL

Cool. Ifn I drive my truck out your way next year, can I get something splashed on it?!?!?! Gary

3. Offy 220

Offy 220

Hi Gary,

I am definitely "not" a painter by any means! I can't tell you how many times I block sanded and colored sanded to get it right. It would have been easier to have had a professional painter with a spray booth paint it but my dad and I decided we wanted to do all the work ourselves. I have learned to respect talent, especially when it comes to paint. Thanks again for the kind comments. Most of all, I am grateful to see the car out, not tucked away in a garage.

Offy 220

4. Speedwrench

Speedwrench

Amen brother!

I've seen that picture somewhere before, wasn't that something that Johnnie White came up with?

5. Speedwrench

Speedwrench