Register now to get rid of these ads!

total newbie electrical question...6v to 12v

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by pshycobilly, May 25, 2010.

1. pshycobilly

pshycobilly
    from Louisiana

Ok so i'm gutting the '54 customline and obviously the wiring is trash so naturally i'm running all new wire everywhere. this is the first 6v system i have ever rewired and i am looking for pros and cons of 12v vs 6v. and if i switch to 12v other than the starter and generator (which will need to be swapped for an alternator i assume) what else do i have to completly swap or hook 12v to 6v reducers to. You should know i plan to use more modern 7 1/2'' reflectors with replaceable bulbs for headlights for safety and LED tail light bulbs, so those will be 12v compatible. Thanks for your patients i hate to ask what seems to be such a bonehead question but i really don't wanna foul up any of the original stuff because I was to proud to ask the question.

2. 54 savoy

54 savoy

3. carkiller

carkiller

The obveious bulbs, Coil, condenser, gas gauge. Seems theres a breaker back side off dash, blower motor. wont need your high amp bat cables. Im sure im forgetting some others

4. pshycobilly

pshycobilly
    from Louisiana

dude 54 savoy thanks that link was very helpful. Your the man bro hope i can repay the favor to yourself or someone else.

5. scrap metal 48

scrap metal 48

I believe Fords were still positive ground till 1956?? That will have to be addressed......

6. Commish

Commish
    from NW Ok

You don't have to switch to an alternator unless you want to. You can get a complete 12 volt generator or if you can find a case with the 12 volt fields you could reuse your armature and end housings and original pulley.

7. rjaustin421

rjaustin421