Register now to get rid of these ads!

Miller vs Lincoln

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 32Rules, Aug 9, 2010.

1. 32Rules

32Rules

I went to the Street Rod Nationals with the intention of finding a good show buy on a Miller 180.
    While I was there I tried both the Lincoln 180 and the Miller 180. I found the Lincoln much more comfortable and easier to use.
    I am a novice welder, just wanted to know what you guys thought before I purchased it.
    Thanks in advance.

2. metal man

metal man

I've used a lot of machines from both companies.Both have outstanding products.Buy the one you are comfortable with.

3. irondoctor

irondoctor
    from Newton, KS

I have both brands in my shop and cant say a bad thing about either one.
    They both make a great product.

4. Lotek_Racing

Lotek_Racing

I have a Lincoln 225 stick. I sure miss my old Miller Thunderbolt 250

I have a Miller mig for sheetmetal. It's still my favourite.

Shawn

5. metal man

metal man

Lincoln welders are made in Cleveland.

6. cretin

cretin

Personally I'm a Lincoln man, but like metal man said, they both make a good product, go with what's more comfortable for you.

7. gasser300

gasser300
    from Ft Worth

A guy at the welding supply house by me said that welders are regional. In the south, its Miller. Up north its Lincoln.

I have a Lincoln MIG

8. metal man

metal man

Yea, I know the M.I.G machines and wire are made in that plant as I've toured it a few times,But maybe they farm out some other stuff.The Cleveland plant really isn't all that big.

9. Hnstray

Hnstray
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Quincy, IL

I have both makes and like them equally............

Ray

10. krooser

krooser

Owned both... good units.

11. ryno

ryno

i'd vote for the miller
    I've had Lincoln's before, but like the millers better.

12. switchkid0

switchkid0