Register now to get rid of these ads!

FLATCAD RACING Bonneville 2011 Build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 38FLATTIE, Jul 27, 2010.

1. 38FLATTIE

38FLATTIE
    from Colorado

I started building a '38 Lasalle, with a blown Cadillac flathead. Somewhere along the line, I became consumed with the engine. You can see that build here:

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=430439

After setting a build goal of a hard to reach 500 hp, I asked myself what I really wanted to do with the mill. I've waffled for the better part of a year now, and decided that the salt was where I wanted to go.
    Soooo, here we are. I don't want to 'undo' the body mods that fink'd did to the Lasalle, so a '38 chevy coupe is the lucky recipient of the flatcad.

And since I'm new to LSR events, any advice is welcomed and appreciated! We will be running in the XXO/BVGC class, on a 151.208 mph record set by Mike Hegarty in 2004.

Attached Files:

• MILL.JPG
      MILL.JPG
      File size:
      144.6 KB
      Views:
    • MILL1.JPG
      MILL1.JPG
      File size:
      144.1 KB
      Views:
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2012
    chryslerfan55 likes this.
  2. fiveohnick2932

fiveohnick2932
    from Napa, Ca.

Meeting all the safety requirements are almost harder than building/coming up with the motor. Your chassis has to keep you safe and the car going straight at high speeds so its no place to skimp. Get the motor to be "good enough" and then dile in your chassis. THEN when you have the bugs out of the chassis go balls out on the motor. IMHO

3. HotRodMicky

HotRodMicky

This is what i `ve heard ,too
    Kinda takes the fun out of it....
    But if i would live in the USA i would have a Bonneville Race car for sure !!!
    I´ve only been to El Mirage but i love it!!!
    Go for it!

4. Bearing Burner

Bearing Burner
    from W. MA

Gas class requires headlights,taillights,grill,door handles trunhandle,trim,raingutters.bumpers etc

5. RichFox

RichFox