Register now to get rid of these ads!

Looks like I'm the new girl...with a '56 Olds to boot !!

Discussion in 'New to the H.A.M.B.? Introduce yourself here!' started by MissFortune, Jul 24, 2010.

1. MissFortune

MissFortune
    from Lemont, IL

Hello everyone!!

My name is Jen and I am obviously new to the HAMB, at least as a member. I've read quite a bit before but now that I've got the car it was time to join once and for all! I'm hoping to make some friends and connections, and also build my network. I want to hopefully meet some people to hang out with at shows and cruise nights, and maybe pick up some parts in the mean time. And of course get tips and how-to's on finishing my car, since I know some but definitely don't claim to know it all. I'm still learning! Luckily I've got my brother Nick (NOT_SO_FAST) to teach me more and help me undertake this heap of a project.

I've always been interested in classics, kustoms, and muscle since a real early age; my family has a lot of history in cars in the area, mostly with Mopar muscle. I also own a bike (a little 1980 Suzuki cruiser...for now), and so there's definitely a degree of surprise when people I meet (or even my friends I've had for a while) find out that I am such a gearhead !! And while I will always have an appreciation for muscle cars, about 5 years ago I started gravitating towards the kustoms and all the culture that goes with it. And I just can't stay away!!

Finally it was time for me to get my own car, I started looking around for an old Mopar, since I was raised on them and love them so. I do, however, have a certain soft spot for Oldsmobiles; my first car was a '94 Cutlass and subsequently my second car is too, an '89 Cutlass. Now it looks like my third car is also an Olds, as I just picked up a '56 Olds Super 88 sedan. It's definitely the new love of my life! (Bought it a month after ending a rocky relationship too, ironically enough...haha)