Register now to get rid of these ads!

Random misfire through exhaust

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Ralph, Jun 11, 2010.

1. Ralph

Ralph

My neighbor brought his 55 Chevy 396 bigblock over with a problem. It has a random misfire/popping through the exhaust at anything above idle. He says it sometimes seems to go away when it warms up. I'm not a mechanic, I just play one in my garage. I went through the HEI ignition, firing order's right, put in a new cap and rotor , wires are good. don't think its ignition related unless the coil's bad. I'm trying to think of probable causes. Vacuum leak - haven't found one. Could it be a broken valvespring? What else would cause this? What should I look for?
    Ralph

2. carcrazyjohn

carcrazyjohn
    from trevose pa

WIRES ,vACUMN LEAK fOULING PLUG pOSSIBLE WIPED CAM ,tHATS ALL i CAN think of

3. johnboy13

johnboy13

I had a very random misfire in my truck a while back. I couldn't figure it out. Then one night I was out for a ride, and I noticed that when it misfired, one of the directional arrows on the dash would flash just the slightest bit. It turned out that the wiring running back to the taillights had come loose from the clip on the frame rail and was hanging down and swinging. It had hit the exhaust and melted through the insulation. When it would swing, it would hit the exhaust and short out. I clipped the melted part out, spliced it back together and zip tied it up. Haven't had the problem since. My point is, look around for loose wires that might be swinging around and shorting to ground.

4. aaggie

aaggie

It sounds like the camshaft is going flat.

5. Ralph

Ralph

Taillight wiring? Man, that's far fetched. Amazing you found it. Don't really think it's a wiring short, though. Any other ideas?

6. havi

havi

Distributor gear worn?